namuseom (나무섬)

Currently getting hit with the feels real hard right now as this is the first blog post I’m writing as a college graduate. It’s been 2 years since I’ve launched this blog. 2 years of growth and changes, but one thing remains constant – my undying love for food (and the immense urge I always have to share). Mid-April is no significant period on most people’s schedules, but for college students, it means blood-shot eyes, all-nighters, and constant procrastination. College students, in light of this, I share one of my favorite restaurants around school to help weather the academic storm.

KakaoTalk_20170305_195057822

KakaoTalk_20170305_195102078

I know the food landscape of my own school like the back of my hand, but this place is pretty much impossible to find if you don’t know the Ewha area well, since it’s located in the remote alleyways by the main gate. It’s actually located on Ewha’s “Startup 52nd Road”, where shops and restaurants are humble products of students’ creative ideas subsidized by the school. Namuseom is one of those ingenious ideas that were conceived, started by two young creatives who wanted to open a French home-cooked dining restaurant.

KakaoTalk_20170305_195102683

KakaoTalk_20170305_195056356

I’ve tried everything on the menu except the shrimp and here’s how I rank them: 1) chicken, 2) salmon, 3) pork. But seriously, you must try the chicken. The meat is so tender and everybody that I took with me here claimed it was their favorite.

The best part about this restaurant (besides the free ice cream you get for dessert at the end) is the outdoor view you get, which is perfect as spring is upon us.

KakaoTalk_20170305_195055690

KakaoTalk_20170305_195054955

Restaurants like Namuseom are hard to come by in school areas. Pricey they may be compared to the bunsik (Korean fast food) most students are used to, it never hurts to treat yourself from time to time, agreed? To all the Ewha and Yonsei students, you’re welcome.

KakaoTalk_20170305_195057138

ADDRESS: 2F, 34-36 Daehyeon-dong, Seodaemun-gu, Seoul

BUSINESS HOURS: 11:30 – 21:00 (Closed on Sundays)

PHONE: 02-365-8806

Leave a Reply

