melting monkey

As much as I love food, my patience wears thin when I have to wait for it. And during Korea’s summertime, waiting doesn’t even become an option- which is probably why I never got around to trying Melting Monkey’s infamous grilled cheese sandwich. I only say infamous because of the extravagant amount of cheese that serves as guilty pleasure, where the guilt might override the pleasure a bit more. Kyungridan’s Melting Monkey joint is popular, to say the least, that standing in line to cop one sandwich is a given. But as Melting Monkey decided to open up a new joint right in front of my very school, I have full access to it whenever I want. This could be very dangerous if not consumed in moderation…

20150801_144753

After deciding to go with the Classic, the owner kindly let me know that it would take about a 6-minute wait to prepare the sandwich. I definitely enjoyed my wait with the fan blasting in my face and munching on the free bread samples.

1438408568785

And finally, the real deal came out. It’s pretty darn amazing how a simple ingredient, like cheese, could rock your world. What’s more, the onion, jalapeno, and bacon bits give it more of a fling with the crunchiness.

I never thought there could be such thing as “too much cheese” until I encountered this one. Don’t get me wrong, it was delicious, but by the time I went for my last bite, I realized the cheese and grease was a little too much for me. Definitely splitting this with a friend next time I go.

20150801_150323

20150801_151052

20150801_144938

20150801_145135

LOCATION: Coming out of Ewha Station Exit #2, walk straight and when you see Olive Young, turn left into the corner. Walk down and you will see Melting Monkey to your right, across from Joe’s Sandwich.

STORE HOURS: 11:30PM-10PM

Leave a Reply

