melting shop-retro delicatessen

I know they say patience is a virtue but unfortunately, that virtue goes out the window when I’m hangry. When it comes to food, I don’t do lines. or waiting. So what do i do when i so desperately want to visit the next hot restaurant that people wait for weeks to get a reservation? I go exactly at the opening time of 11am and make my way to my table without any hurdles to jump over.

Melting shop is a restaurant created by the famous tasting room and is located literally right next to dosan park (도산공원).  It was definitely a guilty pleasure as we scarfed down our food while watching people jog around the park.

First off, we ordered the wasabi soft shell crab popover with french oak salad. At first glance, we were semi-skeptical about the wasabi part, but decided to go for it anyway. And let me tell you, we were not disappointed. with every bite, the soft shell crab melted in my mouth. the wasabi paste had a buttery garlic flavor with a slight wince of wasabi, consisting of fish eggs that popped with every bite. The salad was dressed with lemonade and sprinkled with some parmesan cheese. I guess this is a pretty solid dish, because when i glanced around the room, I spotted light green pastes and crab legs on every single table.

DSC_4654 DSC_4661

Another dish we ordered was the port wine oxtail pesto risotto. My initial impression that I got from this dish was that it was very Korean. The oxtail tasted very similar to  steamed ribs (갈비찜) and the creamy risotto was topped with some sesame leaves (깻잎). So if you’re down with that, then I would recommend this dish.

DSC_4663 DSC_4665

the splendor of the main menu view. ugh, why did my stomach capacity fail me and let me leave that last piece of rib and popover behind. why.

DSC_4669

A shot of the menu (and there were three more pages of drink, mainly wine, selections behind the main menu).

DSC_4670 DSC_4671 DSC_4672

Because we didn’t make a prior reservation, we had to sit on the first floor, but there is a second floor inside the restaurant. Next time, when the hype dies down a bit, I’ll be making my way up there.

DSC_4676

And of course, a fine dining experience would not be complete without a scrumptious dessert to top it off. We ordered the blue velvet sour cream cake. This was a genius combination of sweet and sour. Who knew sour cream could go so well with cake? The flurried powdered sugar not only served as a great visual appeal, but also as a sweetener that contrasted with the sour cream.

DSC_4679

As we dug deeper into our cake, we found a few gems awaiting us inside- fresh blueberries. yes.

DSC_4685

And as if one dessert wasn’t enough, we ordered a mulberry pavlova. I’ve never tried a pavlova, let alone know what the heck it even was, but if all pavlovas taste as delicious as this, then I am officially in love with pavlovas. The pavlova had vanilla ice cream sandwiched between stacks of meringues and mulberry syrup drizzled on top (and of course, powdered sugar- this place must really love powdered sugar). The waitress kindly explained to us how to eat the pavlova, no actually, she made an explanation for every dish that was served (as if there was a certain way to eat a risotto or a cake). Girrrrl, don’t tell me how eat.

DSC_4686 DSC_4687

The aftermath ft. irene the creeper. We experienced a major food coma and had to simply sit for two hours until we could finally get up and make our way to the door. Thank God I wore my stretchiest pants aka leggings that day.

DSC_4691 DSC_4693 DSC_4695

Overall, it was an enjoyable dining experience, but I didn’t think it was worth what it cost. Cut back on the price a bit and i’ll be a loyal customer, but until then, my intake of the melting shop will be in moderation.

DSC_4698

ADDRESS: 서울시 강남구 신사동647-19 (Gangnamgu, Sinsadong 647-19)

PHONE NUMBER: 02-544-4256

STORE HOURS: 11AM- 12 AM (last order until 9:30 PM)

4 thoughts on “melting shop-retro delicatessen

  1. wad? Irene is back in Seoul? that’s my first reaction.
    the 2nd thing i was thinking about while reading your blog was:
    girl, you guys ordered a lot! i wonder how much you guys paid for all these.
    btw, did you shot all your photos with S3/ DSLR? the food looks amuuuuhzing.
    i would wanna go there and treat myself something nice when i have the money.

    Like

Leave a Reply

